Blighted beauty along London’s canal system

There are hundreds of miles of canals in and around London, much of it protected parkland teeming with birds and other critters. I live near the Grand Union Canal Hanwell Locks in West London and had a beautiful two-hour Sunday walk there this morning. The pictures show how beautiful it is.

A narrow boat motors along the Grand Union Canal near Hanwell

A narrow boat motors along the Grand Union Canal near Hanwell

What you can’t see is the shocking amount of trash – car tires, shopping carts, plastic bags and bottles, beer cans – that litter both the water and the  walking path. It must be expensive to keep up such an extensive waterway. And it is such a tragedy that this treasure is so blighted.

About Katie King

All you need to know here. http://www.linkedin.com/in/ktking
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blighted beauty along London’s canal system

  1. meadowsage says:

    Hi Katie
    I love this photo as it reminds me so much of my childhood. Is there any chance I could put a copy of it on my blog? I live in Sussex now so I can’t come and take a photo of my own! Perhaps you would read my blog entry about my childhood memories of the canal and give it your consideration?
    http://www.pollenhonesty.com
    Many thanks!

  2. Katie King says:

    Hi Meadow,

    Yes, feel free to put this photo on your blog. I’m glad you like it!

    Regards,
    Katie

Leave a Reply

